Department of Theatre and Performance Studies: Guest Artists

Guest Artists & Scholars

Guest Artists Header

The KSU Program in Theatre and Performance Studies provides students with numerous opportunities to work with regional, national, and international guest artists and scholars through residency programs, performances, lectures, workshops, and master classes.

Thanks to our annual residencies, students hone their skills, gain exposure to a broad array of perspectives, and establish connections with accomplished professionals in the fields of theatre and performance studies.

Our Guest Artists and Scholars in 2014-15 include:


Ping Chong
Ping Chong, Director, Playwright, and Ethnographer

Residency: February 9-14, 2015
February 9: Mr. Chong gives a talk about his body of work.
February 10-14: Ping Chong directs and ensemble of TPS students in the creation of original work. Public presentation on Saturday, February 14 at [TBA].

Violet Juno
Violet Juno, Performance Artist

September 25-27: Solo performance created and performed by Ms. Juno: (I am Still Here) Language has Left the Building
September 27: Master classes for TPS students

Travis Sharpe
Travis Sharpe, improviser, Dad’s Garage Theatre

Fall and Spring Semesters

Mr. Sharpe joins the KSU Improv Society as a guest
artist in residency for rehearsals and showcases



Carmen Deedy, Storyteller
John Anderson, Performance studies scholar and solo performer Associate Professor, Emerson College
Han Lixun, Scenic Designer, Chief Stage Designer and Art Director of the 2008 Beijing Olympics Opening Ceremony


Cuatrotablas Theatre Ensemble (Peru)
Melissa Hurt
Shuler Hensley
Kerrigan and Lowdermilk
Shannon Maney
Peter Petralia
Robb Telfer


Scott Warren
Ariel Gratch
Benjamin Hass
Tim Miller
Laura Simms
Jack Zipes
Amber Nash


Matt Stanton
George Faughnan
Angie Bryant
Elizabeth Rasmusson
Brenda Wong Aoki


E. Patrick Johnson
Gene Tagaban
Andre DeShields




Regi Carpenter
Javon Johnson
Michael Laskin
Javon Johnson
Mr. Boom!
M. Ayodele Heath
Karen Wurl



Karen Sigers
Kristin Adams
M. Ayodele Heath
Mr. Boom!
Daniel Roop
Karen Wurl



Henry Hylan Scott
John Schmedes